Latest News


You have until September 18th for the Teen Summer Reading Challenge!

Are you scrambling to get your Teen Summer Reading Challenge submitted? Well, you have until this Saturday, September 18th, to submit your responses. When you're ready, fill out the Google Form, found: here

Review the guidelines for the Summer Reading Challenge below and make sure to fill out the form to win a prize and get recognized for your commitment to reading some great books this summer. 

reading challenge

 

 

reading challenge

 

 

reading challenge 3


 


Lulu's Recommended Reading

There is still plenty of time to complete the Teen Summer Reading Challenge. To help inspire you to reach the goal, here are Lulu's summer reading recommendations. 

summer reading challenge book recommendation 5

Pumpkinheads: Rainbow Rowell and Faith Erin Hick's Pumpkinheads is the Halloween moment you need in August! Following two teens on their last night working on a pumpkin patch, this funny and light graphic novel is perfect for fans of Heatstopper by Alice Oseman.

 

summer reading challenge book recommendation 6

The Ballad of Songbirds and SnakesThe Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins is the latest installment in her world-wide bestselling Hunger Games Trilogy. Set 50 years before the original books, Songbirds and Snakes is about a young President Snow mentoring the Games. Any fan of Collins's other books will love her latest.


Saagar's Recommended Reading

If you haven't completed your Teen Summer Reading Challenge, don't worry! There is still time. If you need reading inspiration, look no further than the latest book recommendations from our teen advisory committee: Saagar. 

See below for two books that Saagar has been enjoying this summer and thinks you might as enjoy as well: 
 

summer reading challenge book recommendation 3

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow, is an incredible read. This amazingly detailed biography shows the rise and fall and eventual tragic demise of a larger-than-life founding father. I enjoyed learning about one of Alexander Hamilton’s many extraordinary accomplishments as the first secretary of the United States Treasury was in the formation of the stock market that would become the New York Stock Exchange. I love the stock market and investing, so any book that provides insight on these topics would be at the top of my reading list!

 

summer reading challenge book recommendation 4

Lights Out: Pride, Delusion, and the Fall of General Electric written by Thomas Gryta and Ted Mann was on Bill Gates’ Summer reading recommendation list. I usually enjoy reading selected works based on his recommendation, and this book did not disappoint. This is a non-fiction book that accurately illustrates the gritty rise and fall of General Electric due to malfeasance of leadership. I love history, and business, so anything book that combines these two interests of mine, makes for a fascinating read!
 


Lulu's Recommended Reading

There is still time to complete the Teen Summer Reading Challenge, and to help you find your next greatest read our teen advisory committee is sharing their favorite new books. 

The first two are recommendations from Lulu: Devil and the Dark Water and Any Way the Wind Blows. Check out Lulu's thoughts on these below. 

summer reading challenge book recommendation 2
Devil and the Dark Water: This summer I read the historical fiction mystery The Devil and the Dark Water by author of The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, Stuart Turton. In this Sherlockian novel set on a boat during the times of the East India Trading Company, master detective Samuel Pipps is locked up and being transported to Amsterdam to stand trial. His bodyguard, Arent Hayes, is set on proving Pipps's innocence, but as soon as the ship sets sail, devilry begins to blight the voyage. Can Arent solve the mystery without Pipps? This book is a captivating read perfect for fans of Ace of Spades.

summer reading challenge book recommendation

Any Way the Wind Blows: In Any Way the Wind Blows, the final book in the New York Times bestseller Simon Snow Series, Simon just wants to figure out his place. Does he stay with Baz in the World of Mages or move on with his life? You won't be able to put down this fun fantasy novel, filled to the brim with the tropes and banter that made the first in the series, Carry On, such a must-read. Any Way the Wind Blows is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows.


Teen Summer Reading Challenge

If you haven't started the Jenkintown Library's Teen Summer Reading Challenge, don't worry -- there's still time! The challenge is simple: find (and read!) books that meet 15 of the criteria listed in the challenge for a chance to win a prize from the library. To participate, you can either download the challenge or pick up a paper copy of the challenge at the Circulation Desk! Then submit your completed reading challenge by Friday, September 10 via the Google Form on our website or in-person at the Jenkintown Library Circulation Desk. 
 

teen reading challenge 1

 

teen reading challenge 2

 

teen reading challenge 3


**This challenge is designed for students entering grades 9-12. Please note that submitting your completed reading challenge does not guarantee a prize. One book can count towards a maximum of 3 challenge criteria.